Fake Saving Battery App Classified as Android Trojan

Fake Saving Battery App Classified as Android Trojan

55
0

There is a new Trojan going around on Android devices and this Trojan is being dubbed the “Saving Battery App.” This app was found by ESET researchers who are looking into various Android Trojans that have been popping up lately. The Saving Battery app is called an Android/TrojanDownloader.Agent.JI. We are going to tell you all about the latest Android Trojan and how you can prevent this malware from getting on your device.

Android Trojan Claims to be Saving Battery App

This new Android Trojan claims that it is the Saving Battery App and that this app needs to be turned on because of low energy. Going back to the beginning of this fake app though, it is appearing often times on adult websites. The websites will tell you that you need to update Adobe Flash Player, which is actually a fake warning, and is the first sign of a problem. The Trojan mostly is on the adult websites, although it is also in the third-party app stores.

You first will see the pop up that looks like the real Adobe Flash Player screen, and it will tell you that you need to make a security update to keep your Android device running properly and to avoid Trojans. If you click on the pop up to update the fake Adobe Flash Player to view the content, then you will get another pop up that says “Too much energy being consumed.” The pop up will tell you that you need to turn on the Saving Battery app. This again, is not a real app and is the basis of the Android Trojan.

After you click “OK” to turn on the Saving Battery App, you basically have just given this Trojan complete control of your Android device. The Trojan will do everything on the backend and in the background, so you do not even know it is happening. The Trojan will even lock your device while installing more malware and adware apps on your device, and then will let you unlock your device as normal once those malware apps have been installed. This Trojan can install a ton of apps and malware onto your Android device, including ransomware and banking malware.

You will basically have the same use of your Android device as before, so you might not ever notice that anything is wrong since it will run as normal. The issue is though that this Trojan can steal your personal and financial information, since it can even overlay phishing apps on top of your normal apps. Most of the time the phishing apps will be used on Netflix, PayPal, banking apps, Google Play Store, and other places where you input your credit cards and other financial information.

If you think you might have downloaded this fake Adobe Flash Player update you can go into the Services section of your Android device, and then bring up the Accessibility menu. From there, you just need to look for the “Saving Battery” app, but if you see it you do not want to disable this because if you disable it then you will no longer have access to your Android device at all.

If you see this on your Android device, the best thing to do is just to a factory reset on your Android device. This is because many different malware and various malicious apps could have been downloaded onto your Android device because you unknowingly gave up your administrative privileges. You also can choose to purchase a mobile security app, like Avast or ESET through Google Play, and then remove it using one of these security apps. It does cost money to do this though so you need to take that into consideration. You really should just back up all of your photos and other important information and then just do the factory reset since that is the easier and cheapest option here.

The best way to avoid this Trojan and other similar Trojans on Android is to never download anything from a third-party app store or website. You should only download apps through Google Play, even if the website you are visiting says you need to download a new video player or Adobe Flash in order to view the content. If you need to download anything like that, then click out of that website and go directly to the website of the company, such as Adobe.